The Red Dot Design Award 2011

Pubblicato il Di in Concorsi

Today, the red dot design award, the origins of which date back to 1955, is one of the biggest and most renowned design competitions in the world. In 2010, the competition received almost 14,000 entries from 68 nations in its three disciplines “red dot award: product design”, “red dot award: communication design” and “red dot award: design concept”. The studies by the red dot institute for advanced design studies, which were recently published in the book “Design Value – A Strategy for Business Success”, impressively show that design creates value in the long term and that it pays to invest in design. Receiving a red dot, the internationally recognised seal for excellent design quality, shows that you belong to the international design elite and offers you numerous pos- sibilities of communicating your success, ranging from the red dot design museums and the red dot online exhibition to the red dot design yearbook and the red dot on tour touring exhibitions, the winners of the red dot design award have access to the complete “red dot world”.

red dot: best of the best The “red dot: best of the best” is awarded for pioneering design and the highest award in the “red dot award: product design”. Only the best products in a category receive this prize. The red dot is the award for high design quality.

Only products that clearly stand out from comparable prod- ucts due to their outstanding design receive the soughtafter quality seal from the international jury.

honourable mention In order to highlight outstanding detail solutions of a product the red dot expert jury awards honourable mentions. Such a mention praises particularly successful aspects of a product and is to encourage winners to continue on their successful design path in the future. red dot: design team of the year Receiving the title “red dot: design team of the year” is a very special accolade: Since 1988, red dot has annually selected a design team which with its continually innovative design work has made its mark on international markets. The list of winners of recent years reads like a who’s who of international design, among the winners are renowned names such as Apple, Nokia, Pininfarina, adidas, LG Electronics, BMW, Bose, Tupperware and the most recent winner, Hilti.

The product categories This year an additional differentiation of the product categories has created further concentration of expertise. With the new category “Architecture and Urban Design” products are now assessed in 18 different categories, representing the complete bandwidth of product design. For each individual product category interna- tionally recognised design experts are chosen to assess the entries. Thus the adjudication results in each category reflect the future of the respective industry in terms of design and serve as orientation for manufacturers and designers worldwide.

Product categories in 2011

  1. Living rooms and bedrooms
  2. Households and kitchens
  3. Tableware
  4. Bathrooms, spa and air-conditioning
  5. Lighting and lamps
  6. Gardens
  7. Leisure, outdoor and sport
  8. Fashion and accessories
  9. Watches and jewellery
  10. Interior design
  11. Architecture and urban design
  12. Offices
  13. Industry and crafts
  14. Life science and medicine
  15. Automobiles, transportation, commercial and water vehicles
  16. Entertainment technology and cameras
  17. Communications
  18. Computers and information technology

To register for the “red dot award: product design 2011” and to view important entry information as well as the rules and conditions of the competition please visit Registration fee: Early Bird: 200 euros Regular: 220 euros Latecomers: 240 euros.

All prices are net of statutory value-added tax (19%) This registration fee includes the basic presentation for the adjudication. All products will be adjudicated on site.

Closing dates for registrations: Early Bird: 3 December 2010 Regular: 21 January 2011 Latecomers: 9 February 2011

Adjudication: February 2011