Laka Competition 2020: ‘Architecture That Reacts’

Pubblicato il Di in Concorsi

The subject of the competition is architectural, urban, technological, or product design that is capable of dynamic interaction with its social, natural, or built surroundings. The main focus of the competition is on solutions developed through a process of changes and adjustments. Achieving such a goal requires an interdisciplinary approach that often goes beyond typical solutions. The winning projects from the previous editions often took advantages from disciplines such as robotics, mechanics, digital fabrication, biodesign and biofabrication, computational design, materials science, bioarchitecture, social sciences, industrial design, mobility, and more. The participants are free to decide the project’s location, scale, size, and program. In 2019, the Laka Competition ‘Architecture that Reacts’ celebrates its fifth edition!
Claudia Pasquero (architect, researcher, lecturer, cofounder of ecoLogicStudio)
David Benjamin (founder and principal of The Living, professor at Columbia GSAPP)
Daan Roosegaarde (artist, innovator, founder of Studio Roosegaarde)
Emma van der Leest (biodesigner, product designer, founder of the BlueCity lab)
Elizabeth Monoian (artist, founding director of LAGI, cofounder of Studied Impact)
Robert Ferry (architect, founding director of LAGI and Studied Impact)
Dr. Peter Kuczia (architect, initiator and curator of the ‘Design that Educates Awards’)
Main prizes and honorable mentions will be selected. The winner for the year 2020 and the laureates of the main prizes will be awarded additional cash prizes and invited to present their projects during the ‘Architecture in Foyer 2020’ conference at the Solarlux Campus (Melle, Germany) on April 23–24, 2020 (learn more about the conference at Laureates of all recognitions will be presented on Laka’s websites, promoted via Laka’s network of partners, and included in future publications related to the competition ‘Architecture that Reacts.’ Moreover, the best projects will be exhibited during ‘Architecture in Foyer 2020.’
Winner for the year 2020
Laureate of Gold Prize
Laureate of Silver Prize
Laureate of Bronze Prize
Honorable mention
Financial compensations
1250 USD: Winner for the year 2020*
625 USD: Laureate of Gold Prize**
625 USD: Laureate of Silver Prize**
625 USD: Laureate of Bronze Prize**
Organizer will pay the 20% tax on awards in Poland.
*Net values after taxation: *1000 USD; **500 USD.
The projects of the winners, laureates of the main prizes, and honorable mentions will be exhibited during the ‘Architecture in Foyer 2020’ conference at the Solarlux campus in Germany on April 23–24, 2020. The winner for 2020 and the laureates of the main prizes will have an opportunity to present their designs during the ceremony.

Registration opens in June 2019
Early Registration until August 1, 2019
Regular Registration until November 1, 2019
Late Registration until December 1, 2019
Project submission deadline: December 20, 2019
Jury deliberation: January 2020
Winners’ announcement: February 1, 2020
‘Architecture in Foyer 2020’ conference: April 23–24, 2020
UTC time zone for all dates.