Green Product Award for easy pieces

Pubblicato il 26 Febbraio 2014 Di

Kati Meyer-Brühl has won the recently launched Green Product Award for her easy pieces seating. She was not only nominated four times but was also the only winner in the ‘Professionals’ category. The award will be presented at a network event.

She designed the first piece in the easy pieces range in 2012. Since then, the range has been successively increased by further elements and now includes armchairs, sofas, recamiers, a day-bed and an outdoor version.

As an embodiment of the concept ‘urban meets rural’, easy pieces is characterised by a combination of geometrical linearity with uncomplicated and durable comfort. A hand-finished, solid wood base frame holds loose upholstered elements that feature either surfaces in various matching colours, which allows different looks to be created by simply turning the cushions around, or surfaces that offer interesting contrasts in terms of feel thanks to a fabric and leather mix. A version covered in particularly sustainable, olive leaf tanned leather is also available.

As part of brühl’s natural + original product line, easy pieces is distinguished by a maximum level of environmental compatibility and sustainability as far as all of the materials used and the manufacturing process are concerned. The various types of wood for the base frame are sourced from certified, sustainably managed forests. All covers are removable.

Kati Meyer-Brühl has won over 50 national and international awards for her furniture, including numerous prizes for sustainable design. She holds a Master’s degree in industrial design from the Central Saint Martins College of Arts and Design in London and a Master’s in fine arts from the Parsons The New School for Design in New York. One of the characteristics of her signature design style is a marked consideration of sustainability.

The Green Product Award is awarded by the Berlin-based White Lobster agency, which focuses on the promotion of sustainable innovations and relied on an interdisciplinary jury consisting of certified national and international design experts to award the prize. The criteria judged are design, innovation and sustainability.